I had a tough afternoon (more about that later or tomorrow) but I was listening to my iPod coming back home in the rain. I have “Memories of Us” by Keith Urban on there because it was what my son Nick danced to for his wedding song for his bride. I cried through the song at the wedding because I was so proud of my son because he really is a standup man and wonderful person and I knew on his wedding day he would be a wonderful husband. I had never heard the song before his wedding so I downloaded it shortly afterwards. I think I put the video on my other blog.

Today I heard it and thought it would evoke memories of the wedding but it didn’t. It suddenly felt like Michael was singing it to me when we met. The song is by a man who is saying no worries, I will love you and care for you…and that is what he has done, continually.

If Michael had sung that to me when we met, I can honestly say, almost 13 years later, he lived up to it and kept every promise.

My boys will say that Michael taught them what it was to be a man so it’s no wonder that Nick had this as a wedding song…about what it’s like to be a man and take care of your wife. He learned that from Michael….and as I listened to the words, I just cried and cried.

It’s not that Michael has loved me like no one has loved me, but no one else comes even close. There is no close second.

I don’t know too many people who are as standup and as honorable and as straight forward as Michael. And my security in him and with him has been off the charts….and he is a man among men and made my world not just better than it’s ever been but better than I could even imagine was possible.

For 12 years I never cried. The last time I cried before he got sick was at Nick’s wedding and they were happy tears. Michael kept my world “tears” free and who even imagines that being possible? Especially with my history. But he’s a standup guy who has been there for me and his family while holding onto his individuality….a man among men…a man of his word…


Making Memories Of Us by Keith Urban

I’m gonna be here for you baby
I’ll be a man of my word
Speak the language in a voice that you have never heard
I wanna sleep with you forever
And I wanna die in your arms
In a cabin by a meadow where the wild bees swarm

And I’m gonna love you like nobody loves you
And I’ll earn your trust making memories of us

I wanna honor your mother
I wanna learn from your pa
I wanna steal your attention like a bad outlaw
I wanna stand out in a crowd for you
A man among men
I wanna make your world better than it’s ever been

And I’m gonna love you like nobody loves you
And I’ll earn your trust making memories of us

We’ll follow the rainbow
Wherever the four winds blow
And there’ll be a new day
Comin’ your way

I’m gonna be here for you from now on
This you know somehow
You’ve been stretched to the limits but it’s alright now
And I’m gonna make you a promise
If there’s life after this
I’m gonna be there to meet you with a warm, wet kiss

And I’m gonna love you like nobody loves you
And I’ll earn your trust making memories of us
I’m gonna love you like nobody loves you
And I’ll win your trust making memories of us

