Our two souls, therefore, which are one.
Though I must go, endure not yet
A breach, but an expansion,
Like gold to airy thinness beat.

If they be two, they are two so
As stiff twin compasses are two;
Thy soul, the fixed foot, makes no show
To move, but doth if the other do.

And though it is in the center sit,
Yet when the other far doth roam,
It leans and hearkens after it,
And grows erect at that comes home.

Such wilt thou be to me, who must,
Like the other foot obliquely run;
Thy firmness makes my circle just,
And makes me end where I begun.

~ John Donne

I read a book for widows today that talked of talking off your wedding ring. I not only have my engagement and wedding ring on, I also have Michael’s.

The very idea of ever taking them off made me actually dizzy. The article suggested that it would make the death “more real.” To me there is plenty else to make it more real.

We picked out our rings together, had them inscribed, and Michael proudly proclaimed he had never worn a wedding ring before. Neither of us ever took them off. I took his off a couple of hours after he died and put it on my finger. And there it shall remain.

I am the keeper of our never-ending circle of love.

The rings symbolize our commitment which was strong and good and healthy and loving and all things that love should be.

I have been crying, quite hard, since reading that suggestion. Taking them off seems quite unimaginable to me. It feels wrong.

Perhaps I will turn into old crazy widow someday. Perhaps at some point I will need to take them off to keep that from happening.

But today is not that day.

