This is brand new. While I one day hope to publish “Rope Burns: A Journey,” I marvel at others who have managed to get there first. I started to re-read this blog from the beginning the other day and simply couldn’t get past the second page. For now there is comfort in the writings of others.

“”Of the widow’s countless death-duties, there is really just one that matters: on the first anniversary of her husband’s death the widow should think I kept myself alive.” ~ Joyce Carol Oates

I remember being most surprised at my thoughts of suicide in the first few months after Michael’s death. As the Washington Post reviewer says about Oates’ book, it was probably the journaling of her pain that kept her alive and, for me, it was the same thing. The thoughts of ending it all are very seductive and powerful. There is a draw to go where your beloved is, even if you don’t truly believe that is where you will wind up and there are so many others counting on you to stick around.

A powerful book and another inspiration for me (along with Elizabeth Harper Neeld and Joan Didion) to survive, thrive and publish.

A Widow’s Story: A Memoir

